top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrey Goodermote

KAYA NIEVES

Updated: Oct 1, 2018

Kaya Nieves is a talented film photographer who focuses on portraits. Her work is typically about topics important or relevant to her, including finding intersectionality between differing identities. She was a part of the Teen Arts Group at the Seattle Art Museum and Youth in Focus. Kaya chose Discovery Park as the place that sparks her creativity.


---


Why did you choose Discovery Park as the place that sparks your creativity?

I chose this park because I’ve done tons of photo shoots here. It’s just so beautiful and also huge. There’s so many places I can go in Discovery Park so I feel like I could never get tired of it.


How did you get into photography?

I used to be a really busy child. My mom was always making me do something new. I did dance for a long time as a ballerina. I did hip-hop, tap, jazz, and I did soccer too. That was all up until middle school, and then in middle school I didn’t really have anything to do. My mom found a photography program called Youth in Focus and I started that in eighth grade. They gave me the option of doing digital or film photography and I chose film because it’s way more interesting than digital. You’re actually taking your own photos and going through the process of creating an image. Digital was just clicking buttons, which didn’t seem as appealing to me. I’ve been doing film photography ever since. I like that you never know what you’re going to get with film. It’s kind of like a surprise each time!


Do you intend to pursue a career in photography or the arts?

Yeah! I’d like to hopefully one day become a fashion photographer. I was reading an article recently about Tyler Mitchell; he did the cover of Beyonce for Vogue. I was reading an interview about how he got that position and he was talking about how he built his portfolio on Instagram and also the kind of photographer he wanted to be. He talked about how that was with fashion but also social justice and documenting people’s lives. I’d like to have all of that in one. So yeah, I’m going to Parsons to do that! I’ll be majoring in photography. Maybe one day I can come as close to him.


Where is your favorite place to go for a late night snack in Seattle?

I would say Lost Lake Cafe, but there’s a lot of stuff that’s come up recently about the man who’s a partial owner of the cafe, so I don’t intend to go there anymore… But if I was in Seattle really late at night, I’d probably just go to iHop or Ranchos Bravos.


What do you try to represent in your photos?

I try to represent everyone! The goal of my photos is to represent other people, but I want to represent them in a way where they’re representing themselves. I just have people come to me and if they want to share something with the world then I will work with them. I really want to represent people and stories that are often overlooked in society. A lot of my work focuses on people of color because I am a person of color. I’m also trying to expand to other things too! Like I’m doing a series right now of LGBTQIA youth in their bedrooms and showing what adolescence and being queer is like for me, but also in a way where they can tell they’re own stories in their own spaces. I’m trying to have it intersect with being a person of color. My goal is to see where the intersection of these identities lie and to talk about them.


What movie are you most excited about this year?

This is just the one on the top of my mind, but I’m so excited to see Blackkklansmen! I saw the trailer a while ago and I freaking love Spike Lee so much. The movie looks amazing and so interesting. Also, there’s a new Suspiria movie. I’m kind of a movie fanatic. All I do is watch movies and anime, and listen to music. But Suspiria is really beautiful and is an older movie. Honestly, it wasn’t that good, plot-wise, but it was aesthetically just… wow. Luca Guadagnino, he directed Call Me By Your Name, and he’s doing the new Suspiria movie, so I’m excited to see what that’s like too.


Do you have a favorite place to buy clothes in Seattle?

I really don’t like buying clothes in Seattle because they jack up the prices. I really love the Renton Goodwill. The clothes are cheap and they’re cute and it’s just awesome there. I used to live in Bellevue and there was a little thrift store right by my school and it was called like St. Margaret's Thrift Store, I think. That’s the best thrift store ever. Every time I go in there I always come out with something. And the prices are relatively good!


Where do you typically display your photography?

I like to have an Instagram portfolio, I guess, so share my work that way. I have done a couple art shows and that’s like another way to see what I’m doing. Also, through Youth in Focus they had a program where you could get your photo posted on a bus stop, so I know have maybe two pictures on bus stops in Seattle somewhere. I know one for sure is in Wallingford!


Are you a morning person or a night person?

I guess I’m both? Like last night I stayed up until 2 in the morning, but then woke up around 8. So that’s how I am! I just have a hard time falling asleep and I love the nighttime and the quietness of everything, but I love the morning too! There’s birds and it’s beautiful. Everything’s coming back to life and waking up.


Who are three people you’d like to have dinner with?

I know for sure one is Dev Hynes because they’re a major inspiration to me. The work that they do is super intersectional. It’s about like race and sexuality and gender and identity. Hayao Miyazaki too! I am such a fan of Studio Ghibli and I love Miyazaki so much. I think my favorite movie is probably Howl’s Moving Castle. I really love Ponyo though too. I heard Miyazaki was building his own island so that kids could come in and enjoy nature. Something crazy like that. He’s like, the coolest dude ever so I’d love to have dinner with him. And I think Angela Davis! I really look up to her. She’s incredibly intellectual, strong, and wise. She has done so much work for communities of color and I’d love to hear about all the different experiences she’s had.


Do you have a hidden talent?

Um, not really. I can move by thumb back, which I don’t think is that cool but it freaks my boyfriend out. I don’t know why.


What advice would you give to younger aspiring photographers?

Utilize Instagram! Don’t even care about what people will say. Everyone on Instagram is trying to work with the best of what they’ve got. Being on Instagram really helped me a lot. It’s how I was able to get to do art shows and work with some really cool people Before when I was taking photos, I didn’t know who to take photos of because I didn’t know that many people. Instagram helped me get models though. Also, look at what other photographers are doing and pay attention to that. Don’t necessarily copy because that’s bad, but like looking at something a drawing inspiration from it and making it your own is so cool and it’s how you get your own style.


How are you able to express yourself through your photography? How do your photos represent you?

I feel like all my photos represent me because I always want to take pictures of things that matter to me. I usually photograph based off of experiences I’ve had. I’ve done projects on beauty standards and how those are racialized. I’ve done a project on my experience with being a president of my school’s Black Student Union, and how that was a struggle working with my school’s administration. I focus on topics that are important to me and I’ll work with other people who feel the same way.


What’s your biggest pet peeve?

Oh, when people are passive aggressive or just passivity… I can’t deal with that. If I wanted to hang out with someone and they weren’t being straightforward, I can’t deal with it. I’m a very blunt person and I need to get straight to the facts. If people are mean too. I don’t tolerate mean people.


What country do you want to visit the most?

I’d love to visit France and Japan most, but I would prefer to visit Japan because I feel like I wouldn’t get the opportunity again. France, I feel like I’m more likely to go there because I speak a little bit of French.


Is there a photographer that inspires you?

Yeah! Petra Collins inspired me to start working with colored film and to start paying attention to lighting. Before, I didn’t care about lighting. I just didn’t think it was an important component to photography, even though now that’s so important to me. I always try to do photo shoots at like Golden Hour because I love the lighting and it’s so gorgeous. Sometimes it doesn’t work though and it’ll be like overcast or I’ll have gotten there too late and it’ll have already happened. If that happens, I always just think my shoot is ruined. But yeah! Lighting is really important to me and I think that’s because of her because she has such saturated photos and she does a lot of stuff with colors. That’s really important in her photography and visually identifiable.


What’s something you wish you knew Freshman year?

Um, I think I would tell myself Freshman year to focus more on my studies. I had way too much fun Freshman year and that’s good but also… Kaya, you need to do your homework.


And finally, how would you consider yourself apart of Seattle’s teen art scene?

That’s a funny question. I don’t even really live in Seattle, but I’m always in Seattle. Like I did the Teen Art Group and Youth in Focus. I also did a bunch of art shows so I met a lot of people, so I guess I’m like in the scene because I’m always down here making stuff!

119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page