top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrey Goodermote

SYDNEY ARMSTRONG

Sydney Armstrong is a young vocalist who regularly works with School of Rock. She’s been able to sing at Summerfest in Milwaukee and a Women in Rock show at the Crocodile. On top of School of Rock, Sydney is also in a four-piece women’s punk band called “Ultrasoft”. She intends to continue performing throughout her senior year of high school. She chose Volunteer Park as the place that sparks her creativity.


---


Why did you choose Volunteer Park as the place that sparks your creativity?

I haven’t actually been to this park in a really long time. It’s honestly just nature in general. I don’t know. I think being outside is something I’m initially reluctant to do, but then it’s pretty damn good for my mental health when I actually do it. Being outside always sparks my creativity.


Was there anyone in particular that encouraged you to start singing?

I don’t believe so. I think I just did. I was very embarrassed and wouldn’t sing in front of everyone for a very long time. I kind of had to find that in myself before I could get encouragement from other people.


How often do you perform for an audience?

It depends on the season. I’m definitely more busy in summer, and this summer it was like once or twice a week. This fall will probably be once a month. But yeah, pretty regularly.


If you were in a band with your friends, what would it be called?

Wait, I actually have an answer for this because I’ve always wanted to be in a band called the Lavender Menace. I think it would be fantastic.


What’s your favorite summer activity to do?

I don’t know. I think it’s just nice to not have a schedule. I get to take whatever time I need to work on music and maybe other kinds of art that I tend to neglect.


What is your favorite type of flower?

I like a good yellow rose. I also really like violets and lilies and honeysuckles.


Who do you typically perform with?

School of Rock. I’m in their house band. So there’s a performance program, which is for everyone. It’s also like all ages. Then there’s the house band which is audition only and I’m one of fifteen this time. It’s usually the same people though unless someone drops out, so it’s become a really close group.


Is there another type of art that you would like to try or are good at?

I do everything, I just do it kind of shitty. But yeah, I paint and I draw a lot. That’s definitely something I consider as a secondary thing. It’s something I just kind of do for fun and to help with my mental health, rather than as something I would pursue. For something I’d like to try… I think I’d be a fantastic glassblower. I’ve always wanted to try glassblowing. It seems pretty interesting to me. I don’t know when I’d get an opportunity to do it but we’ll see.


How does singing portray who you are as a person?

I don’t know, because in some ways it doesn’t. A lot of the challenge in singing for me is breaking out of who I am because you are putting on a show. It’s kind of a way for me to get out of my head and, like, fake it ‘til I make it. As a person with very severe social anxiety, getting up on stage is not exactly natural for me. I feel like it’s a way for me to push myself.


What is your dream job?

I would love to do music professionally, but I’d also love to, you know, eat. I mean I currently think I’ll pursue teaching or something else in the literary arts for practical reasons. I hope to keep doing music and art on the side.


West coast or East coast?

West coast.


How many pets do you have?

I have four. Two of them are dogs. I have Hailey, who’s a beautiful ten-year-old Goldendoodle and Henry, who’s a one-year-old Havanese. And then I have two guinea pigs and their names are Ferdinand and Wallace. I got to name those ones, the dogs weren’t my choice or they would have more interesting names.


How has singing connected you with other teen artists?

Well, I mean, in house band I’ve gotten a chance to meet people from all over and then I’ve also met people from other parts of School of Rock. There’s one in West Seattle, there’s one in Lynnwood, there’s one in Bellevue. And then, I guess just making friends with people there, a lot of whom are in their own bands outside.


What’s your favorite song from the early 2000s?

Early 2000s was Greenday. I used to love Greenday. Um, probably “Jesus of Suburbia” was my fourth-grade punk-rock anthem.


Where’s a place in Seattle you could spend hours in?

I really like the Arboretum. It’s really pretty there and I have a lot of memories of being young and spending time there with my family.


How long have you been performing your singing?

I’ve been performing since ninth grade, so I guess it’s been about three years. Well, that’s how long I’ve been performing with School of Rock, but I guess if we’re counting choir and musical theater, it’s been longer. Since like fourth grade, I guess, but that wasn’t really authentic.


If you could be any animal for 24 hours, what would you be?

There are so many. I’m really fascinated with naked mole rats. I think they’re really interesting. So yeah, I’d probably be a naked mole rat, just to get the full experience.


In what ways has singing shaped your identity?

Well, I think combatting my anxiety and giving me confidence kind of go hand in hand. And besides that, it’s given me the most incredible community of artists and people that I feel comfortable being myself around. It’s given me an outlet and a form of expression. Performing allows me to be who I want to be without worrying about external perspectives and gradually I’ve learned to take the confidence I have onstage with me as I move through the world. I definitely wouldn’t be who I am without it.


And finally, how would you consider yourself a part Seattle’s teen art scene?

I mean, a lot of my friends are teen artists themselves, and then I get to meet people through them. I regularly attend events created by teen artists and musicians intended for teens. I think it’s a really great community here and I feel lucky that I’ve been able to grow up in Seattle and had the privilege to be a part of that.

184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page