top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrey Goodermote

EMMA RIDDICK

Emma Riddick is an illustrator for The Messenger, Garfield High School’s monthly news source. She consistently posts pictures of her artwork on her social media and is able to display it in this setting. Emma chose Garfield High School as the place that sparks her creativity.


--


Why did you pick Garfield as the place that sparks your creativity?

Probably because it’s a place where I don’t do a whole lot. I spend most of the day thinking to myself, especially towards the end of the year when we don’t have a lot going on. I have a lot of time to think and also observe people, which sounds kind of creepy, but people are weird. I don’t know. It’s just, kind of interesting. It’s also just full of teenagers which is always weird because we’re in this time where people are all kind of in this limbo state.


How long have you been illustrating for the school newspaper?

One year.


Have you been enjoying it?

No. I don’t really like people telling me what to draw so I’m quitting next year.


Were you able to display your artwork elsewhere before that?

Not really. I mean, like, social media, but before that it’s been mainly just for me.


Do you have a favorite artist?

Uh… no, not really. I follow a bunch of artists on Instagram that are really cool but I don’t know who they are. They all go by these weird names. I don’t generally go to museums a lot so I don’t know of any successful artists. It’s mostly just people I find on Instagram and stuff.


Who’s your celebrity crush?

Oh my god. There’s like a few… Zoe Kravitz, because that’s a queen. Also, I’ve had a crush on like, that boy from American Horror Story. Evan Peters! I’ve had a crush on him since I was in 13 and I don’t really know why. He was like the Flash or the silver dude in those movies.


When did you start drawing as a hobby?

Probably when I was about twelve? When I was in middle school.


How old were you when you started showing your peers you work?

15 or 16? I generally wasn’t super comfortable sharing it before because a lot of it was more personal, but then I think I kind of… decided I didn’t care about that and started sharing it.


What’s your favorite restaurant?

I really like pizza so there’s Mio Posto, but also I just end up at Pagliacci’s a lot… like every Friday.


Is there an artist that your artwork is typically inspired by?

I don’t know what their actual name is, but their Instagram is @nomoredaydreams and they make really cool portraits.


Is there any other type of art (besides drawing) that you’re good at or would like to try?

I don’t know anything about it, but I’d like to try sculpture. I’ve done ceramics but I was really bad at it. I’d like to do bigger stuff though.


If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you want to go?

I went to Washington DC a couple years ago and it was really cool because all the museums are there. They have all the cool famous art. And there’s the Smithsonian.


Instagram or Snapchat?

Instagram. Snapchat stresses me out because you can see who looks at your stuff!


What are your illustrations usually of? Do you have a favorite thing to draw?

I usually do, like, a lot of portraits of people that I make up. For a while, all I did was eyes but now it’s just portraits.


What was the last video you watched on YouTube?

Okay, I watch these like every night before I go to bed because they’re very calming. The Scran Line videos like “No Fondant, Magic Mushroom Cake”.


Who’s your favorite musician right now?

Right now, probably Kid Cudi. I was listening to Britney Spears earlier though!


Is there a place that someone could check out you work?

Uhh... Instagram. Follow me up @emma.riddick. I tried an art profile for a bit but I gave up because I forgot about it.


Finally, how would you say you’re connected to Seattle’s art scene?

I mean, I think a lot of stuff in Seattle inspires me but I wouldn’t say I’m apart of the art scene in any way. I don’t generally reach out. I’m not a part of any art organization in Seattle. I haven’t showcased my art or anything. Seattle definitely inspires me though.

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page