top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrey Goodermote

GISELE FOX

Gisele Fox is a 17 year old Seattleite who has recently blown up in the past year for her modeling. She’s done campaigns for brands such as Coach, Marc Jacobs, and Versace, as well as walking for many fashion shows. She participated in Fashion Week 2017 in Paris.


---


Why did you choose Discovery Park as a place that sparks your creativity?

Because it’s a place that not a lot of people go to these days. Seattle’s so crowded and people have always been in the arboretum, which is pretty close to my house. Discovery Park is pretty chill though. There isn’t a lot of parking so there can’t be a lot of people there at a time. It’s a nice place to go on the outskirts of Seattle that’s still pretty wilderness-y.


How long have you been a model?

I’ve been modeling for almost two years I guess. Or a year and a half.


How did you get into modeling?

I just went to my agency one day with some photos. I actually found the packet of photos I brought in recently, which has my name and age and height on it. I brought those in and they were willing to sign me on the spot. It was really nice.


What brands have you modeled for?

I have modeled for Calvin Klein, Prada, Coach, Dior… Yeah, it’s been nice.


There’s some controversy over whether modeling is an art form. What’s your opinion on that and why?

I think it can help with the creativity that’s on set. I think you can add to it with modeling, but, in itself, it’s hard to have it be its own art-form. Especially for editorial things, since you have a photographer there for the creative direction overall and the set designer. So you can definitely play off their ideas, but it’s not an art-form all to its own.


What’s it like to be apart of that creative environment?

It’s great when the photographer and team really wants you to be apart of the whole shoot. There are some shoots where you go last minute and you don’t really get to see the mood board or really know what’s going to happen. You’re just kinda put in an outfit on set and stand there. Those are pretty stressful because you don’t know what to do but you want to do a good job. I’m trying to let myself have more insight to what the shoot’s looking like, because that is a way that I can help it.


Apple or Samsung?

Apple!


What has been your favorite campaign that you’ve been apart of?

The Coach shoot. Coach was the first brand that I could really recognize when I looked through magazines because they were so distinct and they all had the same aesthetic for each photo. They’re also just gorgeous as well. When I realized I was going to do the campaign, I was shocked that I was going to be able to be a part of these photos that I thought were like works of art.


What does a typical week look like for you?

Well it can go three different ways I guess. I’m either flying out for a shoot, I’m on the road for fashion week, or I’m home in Seattle. A week where I fly out for a day or two for a specific shoot is fun but it’s really hard on my body because I’ll fly out, do a shoot all day, and then fly out the next day. I’ve done this for London a couple times and the quick change in time zones just makes me feel like crap afterwards. When I’m on the road for fashion weeks I’m just at the whim of my agency, I’m in a city and running around doing castings, fittings and shows. Then the third way is when I’m just in Seattle chilling and doing school. Usually I’ll go to the libraries or hang out with some friends.


In your opinion, which restaurant has the best pizza in Seattle?

I live very close to Cafe Lago, which has the best pizza!


Do you want to pursue modeling as a lifelong career? If not, what do you want to do when you grow up?

I don’t know. I think it could be cool if I was able to do it long term, but it’s really difficult to. There are some models that I’m seeing do that, but a lot of are them doing it part-time so they only do a couple of gigs a year. It would only become a lifelong thing for me if I either became a Victoria’s Secret Angel, which is very improbable, or if I was able to go into that market of doing a beauty campaign or beauty contracting. So I don’t know. What I’m thinking of doing right now is taking a year off to pursue modeling and see if it picks up when I’m in the game more or if it would just stay at the level I’m doing now. I think I’d never completely leave it though. Like, if I did take some time off to do college and Prada were to call me up again to do their show, I’d definitely hop back in to do it.


Who inspires you most in your life?

Emma Gonzales and that entire March for Our Lives team. They know what they want and they know how they can get it. They don’t get caught up with all the internet trolls, they’re just able to laugh it off or are able to turn it around. Like when one reporter stated that this student was a crisis actor, and then the student shot back a tweet naming the brands that supported the newspaper. Then all these people started retweeting it and those brands started separating themselves from [the reporter]. Then she released a statement apologizing for her insensitivity. So they really know how to get at these people even though they’re just kids. They have this no bullshit mentality and I love it.


What is your favorite subject in school?

U.S. Government actually! We’re just at the beginning right now and learning about the basics but I can’t wait to get more into it and how it is all set up.


Where is the coolest place modeling has taken you?

When I was in Tokyo for a little bit, I was able to go to Mt. Fuji a couple of times, which was really cool. Or just even when I was in London this past year, there was this quaint little English countryside. I never see that part of England when I’m there because I’m always stuck in the city, so it was just nice to go into the suburbs.


Are you interested in any other types of art?

I do some embroidery when I’m feeling crafty because it’s like instant satisfaction. It does take a long time, but you see exactly what you’re doing as you’re doing it. Also film photography!


How often do you practice photography?

Whenever I’m around family or going on family vacations. I guess I don’t do it as often as I’d like just because it’s really expensive. The last batch I did was three rolls of film and it cost around $64 to develop it. So I just keep it around family because then it will really mean something. I’ve learned from that last batch to make sure I’m focusing everything correctly.


How many languages do you know? Are there any other ones you’d like to learn?

I know English and Italian, though I’m slowly losing my Italian. I could carry on a conversation in it, I just stumble on my words sometimes. And there aren’t any languages I’d really like to know these days. Probably French if I were to pick one.


And finally, how would you consider yourself apart of Seattle’s teen art scene?

I don’t think I am a part of it. I’m not around enough to be super involved and I don’t really know where I could get involved. I’d definitely like to get more into it. I did go to this one film festival called NFFTY, and it was really good! I don’t know. It kind of inspired me to try to make a film that I could submit, like maybe one about the behind-the-scenes of fashion shows or something. I don’t know though. We’ll see!

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page